157_In my head - Keanu Reeves.jpg

A Rockstar in my head

"That's badass." The memories of Rockstar Silverhand, caught in his mind. That's something miho can relate to, as he told us this week. - Coming soon.

In my head Ep.1
 

"It has to be f'n awesome."

Born in the city of Meiningenin 1971, miho developed to an aspiring contemporary artist from Germany who has risen in popularity throughout Europe since 2015.

In his artworks miho translates his perception of icons from his youth and present day life to canvas, expressing his very own stories through the impressive passion within his art style as well as the emotions of his motive.

His paintings, often drawn with bright, acrylic colors, interpret the contrasts of Rock ’n’ Roll and Hollywood-Life as well as the polarity  of scenes from nature and popular comics, which characterize miho's works of contemporary art. 

The requirement for a motive becoming his next piece of contemporary art is as passionate as it is short:

"It has to be f'n awesome."

"Wouldn't be here without."

Coffee and a record from U2`s live-concert in Milan in 2005. At best loud. Like really loud. That's what miho definetly needs to create his unique contemporary art - afterall, creativity doesn't come out of nowhere.

The Irish rock band from Dublin already fascinated miho during his youth. With their passion, their dynamic as well as their sound. Features, that can also be found within miho's artworks: In the emotions of his motives, the dynamics of his technique as well as the tone of his colors.

That Bono, U2's lead singer, has been among miho's motives shouldn't be much of a surprise therefore. But Bono is far from being the only icon miho has brought to canvas throughout his career. 

David Bowie. Steve McQueen. Keith Richards.

 

From Hollywood-Icons and Rock'n'Roll- legends to old comicbook heros like Tintin and Snowy miho has brought many of his past and present influences to life on canvas.

However, they are more than just his idoles. They are icons who influenced the life of generations. They make miho's artworks more than a homage to the good old times. They make them more, than just another piece of contemporary art.

Each of his artworks joins people with the same interests, the same passions, and becomes more than just some piece of contemporary art, often representing the memories of a generation.

"miho."

Project "miho" initially started out back in 2015 as an idea to create something special to suprise the the wife from one of miho's regular clients and has since developed into something, miho wouldn't have dreamn't of at any time.

Back then, miho just wanted to create something different - something that wasn't ordinary for his detailed style, that he would often use for contracted paintings and city sceneries which he sold in his atelier.

He knew the wife of his client was a huge fan of Audrey Hephurn, but that was pretty much it. It was an idea for a motive though. Now miho only needed a cup of coffee, some music, his colors and a blank canvas.

But how does one create something special?

An unique art style?

"Let's turn up the music", "A little more." I recall miho saying back then, while his atelier turned into the stage for U2's  '05 concert in Milan. The passion, the fascination that miho felt from listening to U2's songs - that is, what he wished people would feel when watching his paintings. 

With this thought, this goal in mind, miho got lost in the intoxicated world of colors and contrasts from Comics and Pop-Art, that shaped his perception of arts at the time.

And he created an homage of the Hollywood legend Audrey Hephurn. An exceptional one, that would fascinate his client and his wife. One that founded his own, unique art style.

"Can I buy it?" was the first thing that came from his astonished client, when miho presented his idea for an exceptional gift to the clients wife. It was the perfect surprise. The joy from his clients face confirmed miho's success. He created an artwork, that had all of the fascination, all of the emotions miho felt while painting it.

 

And yet it grew to be more than another artwork. More than an escape from the details of his city sceneries and contracted paintings. His homage excited as an artwork, but also as a source of inspiration as well as a memorial to the lifetime achivements of the Hollywood icon Audrey Hephurn and the Golden Age of Hollywood.

 

It became more than contemporary art.

Soon after showing off his first art work as "miho", new ideas came to miho's mind and more homages to John Lennon, James Dean, Steve McQueen and David Bowie followed, founding the artist's new life under the pseudonym "miho".

Since then friends and clients from his hometown, throughout Germany as well as the United Kingdom have made miho to so much more than just a surprise project and helped him grow into Europe's art scene.

Together with them, he relives the memories from his past and present, from movies that shaped his adolescence and songs that made him feel alive. Over and over again, sharing his passion for arts, music and movies.

"My absolute favorite."

Stuck in a moment you can't get out of -04:32

Elevation                              -03:45

Walk on               -04:55

If you wanted to know one real influence on miho's artworks, it probably would be his favorite song "Elevation", obviously a song by his favorite band U2. "What's so influential about it?". you might ask. Its dynamic.

Yeah, yeah. This song also is a great inspiration to write these texts here, but I am drifting apart. The dynamics aren't only what makes this song sound different to other songs from U2, but also what makes miho's paintings so special compared to other contemporary art.

 

Characterized by the combination of strong contrasts and the polarity of his portraits with the almost flowing transition between the colors in the background of his paintings, miho's dynamics define the line between shadows and lights, power and emotions of his art works and thus, his unqiue style.

"Contemporary arts, but..."

Miss Sarajevo                   -07:01

Hello, hello, can I please go Vertigo ?  -03:54

Elevation              -05:52

When its about contemporary arts, things often are about current trends, arts reflecting society or themselves, but this is not what miho is aiming for with his artworks.

 

Afterall, he hopes to capture his emotions, the feelings and perceptions of an era in every single painting, to summarize his generations memories in his motives.

Sharing these emotions with friends, family and enthusiasts - this is what makes miho's artworks something special. Something more than contemporary arts.

PS: After writing all these texts here I can only recommend listening to the recordings from U2's '05 concert in Milan. No wonder miho still listens to them as loud as he can.

Just awesome.

Like his homage to James Dean on my wall.

Ein Besuch in Cannes

Vom 07. bis zum 12. September unternehmen einzelne Werke miho's eine Reise zum Cannes Yachting Festival, auf der Suche nach einer Eleganz die Ihnen gleicht.

 

"Es muss geil sein."

Geboren 1971 in Meiningen, ist miho einer von Deutschlands aufstrebenden, zeitgenössischen Künstler,  der sich seit 2015 steigender Popularität erfreut.

In seinen Werken überträgt miho seine Wahrnehmung von Symbolen seiner Jugend und seines heutigen Lebens auf Leinwand , um in den Emotionen und den vielen kleinen Impressionen seiner Motive, seine eigene Geschichte auszudrücken.

Seine Malereien, oft gefertigt mit tiefen, kräftigen Acrylfarben, interpretieren dabei vor allem die Kontraste des Hollywood- und Rock’n’Roll-Lebens sowie die Polarität von Ausdrücken der Natur oder ausgewählter Comicszenen und charakterisieren diese in detaillierten, farbfreudigen Werken.

Seine Maßgabe für jedes seiner Motive, damit aus Ihnen Contemporary Art wird:

"Es muss geil sein."

"Ohne das geht es nicht."

Kaffee und eine Live-Aufnahme von U2's Konzert in Mailand aus 2005. Am besten laut. Also so richtig laut. Das ist es was miho braucht, um Contemporary Art zu erschaffen - Kreativität kommt eben nicht von ungefähr.

Die irische Rockband aus Dublin hat miho bereits seit seiner Jugend begeistert. Mit ihrer Leidenschaft, ihrer Dynamik und ebenso ihrer Lautstärke - Eigenschaften, die sich auch in miho's Acrylmalereien, seiner Technik und seinen Farben wiederfinden.

Dass Bono als Sänger seiner Lieblingsband schon von miho gemalt wurde, erklärt sich dabei von selbst. Doch der Sänger von U2 ist nicht die einzige Kultfigur, die sich schon auf miho's Leinwand befand. 

David Bowie. Steve McQueen. Keith Richards.

 

Von Kultfiguren aus Hollywood und Legenden des Rock'n'Roll, bis zu alten Comichelden wie Tim und Struppi hat miho schon einige seiner Idole auf die Leinwand gebracht.

Doch sie sind mehr als Symbolfiguren seines eigenen Lebens. Sie sind Ikonen, die für ganze Generationen greifbar sind. Durch sie wird aus miho's Werken mehr als eine Hommage an die guten, alten Zeiten. Und mehr als Contemporary Art.

Jedes seiner Werke erzählt eine einzigartige Geschichte, die Millionen von Menschen in ihrer Leidenschaft für einen Film, einen Song oder ein Kunstwerk vereint.

"miho."

Das Projekt "miho", das 2015 einmal eine Idee war, um die Frau eines guten Kunden zu überraschen, hat sich seit jeher weiter entwickelt, als miho es sich je gedacht hätte.

Damals wollte miho nur etwas cooles schaffen, um ein Pärchen, die Stammkunden seines Ateliers in Meiningen waren, mit etwas Besonderem zu überraschen.

Er wusste, dass die Frau ein Fan der Schauspiel-Ikone Audrey Hephurn ist. Das Motiv war also klar. Jetzt brauchte er nur noch seinen Kaffee, etwas Musik, seine Farben und eine Leinwand.

Doch wie erschafft man etwas Besonderes? Einen eigenen Kunststil?

"Drehen wir die Musik noch etwas auf.",

"Noch ein bisschen mehr." sagte miho damals, während sich sein Atelier zur Mailänder Bühne des 2005-er U2 Konzerts wandelte. Die Begeisterung, die Emotionen, die er beim Zuhören von U2 spürte, die sollten auch aus seinen Werken strahlen.

Mit diesem Gedanken, diesem Ziel verlor sich miho in der Kraft seiner Acrylfarben und den Kontrasten aus Comic und Pop-Art, die seine ersten Kontakte mit der Malerei prägten und erschuf eine ganz besondere Hommage an Audrey Hepburn. Eine Hommage, die das Pärchen auf den ersten Blick genauso wie auf den zehntausendsten fesseln sollte.

Ein Gefühl der Faszination, dass das Pärchen direkt erwiderte.

"Kann ich es kaufen?" entgegnete ihm der Mann, als miho ihm seine Hommage zeigte. Es war die perfekte Überraschung für seine Frau. Die Begeisterung auf seinem Gesicht, bestätigte miho's Streben, seine Emotionen, seine Begeisterung in seine Hommage zu übertragen.

 

Sie war mehr als nur ein Versuch aus den Details von miho's Stadtansichten und Auftragsarbeiten auszubrechen. Seine Hommage begeisterte als Kunstwerk, als Inspirationsquelle wie auch als Erinnerung an das Lebenswerk der Schauspiel-Ikone und des "Golden Age of Hollywood".

 

Sie wurde mehr als nur Contemporary Art.

Schon bald folgten seinem ersten Werk als "miho" das Interesse weiterer Stammkunden und es entstanden weitere Hommagen an John Lennon, James Dean, Steve McQueen und David Bowie, die den Grundstein seines neuen Künstlerdaseins unter dem Pseudonym "miho" festigten.

 

Seither haben die Fans aus seiner Heimat, quer aus Deutschland und dem Vereinigten Königreich miho bereits heute zu weit mehr als dem Überraschungsversuch von damals gemacht.

Gemeinsam mit ihnen, vervollständigen sich miho's Werke durch ihre ganz eigenen Erinnerungen an die Figuren, die Idole, die ihr Leben prägten und prägen und ergänzen die Leidenschaft, die miho in jedes seiner Werke steckt, mit ihren ganz eigenen Emotionen.

"Mein absoluter Favorit."

Stuck in a moment you can't get out of -04:32

Elevation                              -03:45

Walk on               -04:55

Wenn miho etwas besonders begeistert, 

dann ist es sein Lieblingssong "Elevation", selbstverständlich von seiner Lieblingsband U2. Was genau er an diesem Song so besonders schätzt?  Seine Dynamik.

Yeah, yeah. Dieser Song ist auch eine super Motivation um diese Seite zu schreiben. Aber seine Dynamik zeichnet nicht nur den Song aus, sondern auch miho's Stil.

 

Geprägt von einer Kombination aus starken Kontrasten und der Polarität seiner Porträts mit den fließenden Farbübergängen seiner Hintergründe, definiert die Dynamik zwischen Schatten und Licht, Kraft und Emotionen ein jedes seiner Werke.

"Contemporary Arts, aber anders."

Miss Sarajevo                   -07:01

Hello, hello, can I please go Vertigo ?  -03:54

Elevation              -05:52

Doch wenn es um Contemporary Art geht, geht es oft auch um Trends, die aus einer Spontanität entstehen, Kunst, die die Gesellschaft oder sich selbst reflektiert. Themen, um die es für miho eher weniger geht.

 

Mit seinen Werken möchte miho vor allem seine Emotionen, den Zeitgeist, die Gefühle und die Eleganz einer Ära auf seiner Leinwand einfangen und weitergeben.

Sie zu teilen, mit Freunden, Familie und Bekannten, das ist es, was miho's Kunst zu etwas Besonderem, zu mehr als Contemporary Art macht.

PS: Nachdem ich den ganzen Text hier geschrieben habe, kann ich nur sagen, dass die Live-Aufnahme von U2 aus Mailand echt klasse ist. Kein Wunder, dass miho selbst heute noch die Anlage bis zum Anschlag aufdreht.